top of page

An Ode to Motivation

Ode: noun: a poem in which a person expresses a strong feeling of love or respect for someone or something.

An Ode to Motivation

The cold wind blows briskly out of the west and with it goes my motivation…..

Ok, so I started to write an Ode to motivation…

Sounds promising, right?

Until I looked up the types of Odes and their structure and rhyme scheme… and, well, my motivation ran out.

I even took to one of my facebook groups to bemoan my loss of motivation only to find out that 40 comments later that I was not alone in my quest to remain lump-like on my couch until the blooms return and the wind grows warmer. But, I will seriously go off the deep end if I sit still that long! Or go broke because if I don’t ride I start a new renovation project. (Yes, I am currently planning the - closet to an office reno and two barn projects.) My mares are already concerned that I am mad at them or sick since they have had so much time off in what they consider perfect riding weather. (shiver) I am ignoring the comments from the pious ones who are riding 6 horses a day in -12 weather already… BAH Humbug!

One poster created a FB group Staying Motivated to Ride. Yes, I joined. So, that counts as one riding related thing I did yesterday, right? Also, the breeches I ordered came in and I tried them on…so that makes TWO THINGS! But seriously, I cleaned off my dry erase calendar in the barn and finally wrote in the days of the month of December and added the Saturday and Monday rides to it. Last year it was full of rides logged, appointments kept, and shows. It looks a little blank and pale right now kind of like me. So, if you are having motivational issues, you are not alone, but together we can inspire each other!

bottom of page